Review: Maybelline Color Tattoo in 65-Pink Gold

November 6, 2012 § 7 Comments

Hello!

Today I’ll review briefly the lovely Maybelline Color Tattoo in #65 Pink Gold.

First, let me tell you I’ve been waiting for these cream eyeshadows to come here in Italy for ages! Basically, they started to pop up on the stands about six months after the lauch in the US. Yeah, you heard right. :/
I decided to buy Permanent Taupe (#40) color (if you want the review, let me now and I’ll post it!) and leave there the beautiful Turquoise Forever (#20) and Endless Purple (#15) simply because I don’t wear bright colors much. These were the first colors I saw on the stands.
Two weeks ago (or maybe even three) I saw Pink Gold and his mate Metallic Pomegranate (#70), both in a limited edition.

If you don’t know, these Color Tattoos are cream eyeshadows that can be easily used as a primer as much as alone since the colors are simply stunning.

Let’s see the details!

Color&Pigmentation. Pink Gold is a metallic rose toned shadow, with a bit of shimmer. It reminded me of MAC Bare Study Paint Pot even it’s way more pink. The pigmentation is quite good (#70 is better, but it’s totally matte, so it’s quite different), but since it has a metallic/shimmer-y finish the application is extremely important to have the right payoff.

Application. I find that this shadow needs a little bit more work than the MAC Paint Pots, it needs to be warmed up (just a little bit) to ease the application on the lid (but that’s pretty common for cream eyeshadows). As most of cream shadows, it has a nicer payoff it applied with fingers instead of brushes. Generally, after doing my lid with the fingers, I blend it out with a crease brush, so that most of the color is on the lid, but still, there are no harsh lines in the crease. It blends pretty easily if you are quick; once it sets it’s hard to work it!

Longevity. It’s awesome. It lasts for more than 6 hours without fading (no primer under it) and, on my lids, it doesn’t crease at all which is always great for a cream eyeshadow.

Packaging. A bit heavy because of the glass, but, overall, it’s good, I guess.

Store&Price. Any drugstore should sell it. I don’t remember exactly how much I paid for it, but it wasn’t more than 6€.

Overall 9/10. I’ve never trusted cream eyeshadows that much, but I have to say that with time the formulas are getting better and better and these Maybelline ones are definitely the best deal you can get, right now. I know that Chanel does impressive cream shadows as well as MAC, but we all know they are pretty expensive.
Do I recommend this product? Yes, but only if you are aware that cream eyeshadows can change a lot depending on the way you apply them. They become way easier than powder ones only after you get used to the different application.
For me, it’s not a 10 simply because I was expecting a lighter color, if I apply too much of it, it makes my eyes a little too red-dish. Blame my skin tone, for that! πŸ˜›
On a side note, I’ve never tried it under power shadows so I can’t tell you if it’s a good primer or not (if it lasted more that 6 hours alone I can guess it great as a base!).
A plus for this product? It can be used as eyeliner and I love to draw my lash line when I don’t want to wear full eyes makeup, but still want a bit of color! πŸ˜‰

Hope it was helpful!

Stay beautiful.

L

Tagged: , ,

§ 7 Responses to Review: Maybelline Color Tattoo in 65-Pink Gold

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: Maybelline Color Tattoo in 65-Pink Gold at randombeautythings.

meta

