Books&Winter Exams Session

January 24, 2013 § 9 Comments

Hello, everyone!
Just a quick post, some few words and a request for advice!

My winter exams will start in any way now (officially from Jan. 28th to Mar. 1st) and I have three exams to take. Can’t wait to finish, can’t lie! 😛 Then, I’ll be just three exams to go before my thesis! Super-excited!!!
Unfortunately, this winter session will take me more than last year because two of those exams are lab courses so I have to write reviews, study the theory and work on my PowerPoint ppt. Because of that, I am afraid I won’t be able to post my usual two posts a week and maybe I will post none during this month. 😦

Neal&Peter from White Collar – not my gif

I hope you’ll understand and that you’ll stick with me anyhow. I’ll be reading your blogs, of course and we’ll stay in touch by comments, though! 🙂
Never say never, anyway! I’ll be taking pictures of makeup anyway and, maybe, if one day I have the right time I’ll write reviews/beauty posts.
Follow me on Instagram and Twitter if you don’t want to miss me! ❤

Concerning my “advice request“, I am planning to place a book order (online) soon and I’d like to read some nice novels. I stopped reading years ago and one of my New Year’s Resolution is to start reading again, at least two times a week. Plus, I have to take the TOEFL during this Summer and I’m sure that some more English wouldn’t hurt!

Belle from Once Upon a Time – not my gif

I have a pretty open mind about books, so suggest anything you like! The only thing I can’t go with is a difficult (or too classical) English (like Joyce, for instance :P) because, as you know, English is not my first language and I have to be able to follow the story without having to look for words in every sentence!
I’m pretty much interested in new book, also!

At the moment, on my wish list I have:
The Perks of Being a Wallflower (S. Chbosky)
The Happiness Project (G. Rubin)
The Help (K. Stockett)
The Casual Vacancy (J.K. Rowling)

So, please, feel free to post thousands of comments with your suggestions!

I’ll talk to you soon! Wish me luck!
Stay beautiful.

L

Tagged: , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Books&Winter Exams Session

  • Good .luck on exams. I read The Happiness Project and it is a quick read. Have you thought of The Host by Stephanie Meyer? Also, Life of Pi? Do you have particular genre interests?

    • satine89 says:

      Thanks, I’ll need luck! 😉
      I’ve heard of The Host, but I’m not a big fan of Meyer..is it any bottern than the Twilight series?
      Yes, heard of Life of Pi, as well. I guess my sister has it in italian, maybe I should read it anyway!
      Well, I like drama, comedy, romance, thriller, fantasy..really any kind!

      • Good point. Twilight Series was horribly written for first two books. Hmmm. My taste in reading as I’ve gotten older as veered super light and pure slush. Balance I suppose. Austen’s Pride and Prejudice is awesome. The French Lieutienant’s Woman is good too. I”ve heard The Help is really good. Haven’t gotten to it though. Anne Rice’s The Mayfair Witches is pretty interesting fantasy element. i say throw caution to the wind. Lay assortment of books in front of you, close eyes and pick one. Voila!

      • satine89 says:

        Thanks for the titles, I’ll add them and then I’ll pick as you said! 😉
        Thanks, hon!

  • Nail Luxxe says:

    Aww well we will miss you while you are away but Good Luck with the exams!! I can’t recommend you on the books because I haven’t read for a long time either. The last thing I started to read was by Harlan Coben (who I love) but I didn’t finish it. In fact you’ve reminded me I have to pick that back up! So thank you 🙂
    Good luck again! NL xoxo

    • satine89 says:

      Thanks hon!!! Let’s hope the exams go great! 😉
      ahah, I’m glad! reading is very important and with these always-in-a-hurry lives we tend to forget that!!!

  • lollclarke says:

    I’m not sure if you’re still looking for good books, but have you ever read The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare? There probably my all-time favourite books, they’re fantasy/romance/action though, so I’m not sure if that’s something you’re interested in..?
    X

    • satine89 says:

      Thanks for the heads-up, dear! I’m done buying books for now, but I’ll definitely write them down and buy them as soon as I’m able to! ❤
      Thank you, they seem veeery interesting! I know that The Mortal Instruments are becoming a movie series too, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Books&Winter Exams Session at randombeautythings.

meta

