Review: Essence Stay Matt Lip Cream in #01 Velvet Rose

May 16, 2013 § 6 Comments

Hello!!!

Here’s the review of my latest lip product purchase: the Essence Stay Matte Lip Cream in Velvet Rose (#01).

stay matte essence

Color&Pigmentation. I find that the name suits the color very well. The lip product is definitely a pink, but more specifically a rose-pink. The adjective “velvet” makes me understand exactly what color to expect. Don’t ask me why! haha
The lip cream is extremely pigmented, definitely more than I thought it would.

Application. It has the traditional sponge applicator that I never complained too much on lip glosses, but this, in this case, makes the application more difficult than it should. The texture of the product, in fact, is pretty thick if compared to a lip gloss and I feel like the sponge drags the colour too much. As a result, even if being very careful and precise, lips are not colored in an even way. The best way of applying it I find is with fingers, the middle one is the best for me. If you want to, you can build it up and have a less sheer look, but I suggest to use a lip brush to have an even application. Concerning it’s finish, I’m not sure about the “matt” effect. Yes, it does not set as glossy as you apply it, but it’s not as “matt” as I expected. I think I like it better this way, though!

Longevity. I expected it to last and stay still for at least one to two hours. Well, just after 10 or 15 minutes it tends to create the hideous “ring” of color right where the lips touch. I blotted it just right there, but after some more minutes it would just recreate. To avoid something like that I realized that the product needs to set with your mouth open or, well, with your lips not closed for at least 5 minutes (depending on how much product you applied). Obviously it’s something very unhandy, even for the ladies who have time. Concerning the longevity itself, it lasted about two hours, but the color started to fade and I feel like it can dry your lips a bit. I don’t know how a chapstick would act above (or under) the lip cream.

Packaging. Nothing much to say, very nice and cute. If only the brush was different!!!

Store&Price. I bought it at an Essence counter at OVS, but you can get it whenever Essence is sold (I think that outside Italy you can find this brand in drugstores!) for 2,49€.

Overall 6/10. I really wanted to like this product. I was looking for something like this to use everyday, just to have some pink on the lips. Sadly, the fact that it requires a long process of applying it and setting forces me to use it only when I have time (never LOL). It’s such a shame because the color is stunning, in my opinion!

Have you tried these Lip Creams? Any tips?

Stay beautiful.

L

Tagged: , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Review: Essence Stay Matt Lip Cream in #01 Velvet Rose

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: Essence Stay Matt Lip Cream in #01 Velvet Rose at randombeautythings.

meta

