Review: Essie Nail Polish in Lilacism #37

May 20, 2013 § 10 Comments

Hello!

Here are my opinions on the Essie nail polish in the colour Lilacism (#37). I received it in my latest purchase of the MyBeautyBox, as I was talking here. I got this lilac color (out of the three pastel shades available) as a surprise and, honestly, I was hoping to get the light blue pastel one! 😦 Thankfully, I ended up liking very much! Keep reading to know why! 😉

essie lilla

Color&Pigmentation. Lilacism is a lilac color, light enough to enter in the “pastel” range. You may already know, but I have never liked purples and lilacs in general. I don’t know why, I just tend to avoid these colors. This polish actually surprised me, though! Watching the color on the bottle I wasn’t very tempted to try it on, but when I did, me liking how the color suited my fair skin came as a huge surprise! 😀 I have to be honest, though: I would have liked it better if it was lighter. The pigmentation is very good, but you need two coats to get an even color.

Application. It wasn’t as easy as the red one (Laquered Up, here‘s the review), but it was pretty good anyway. I found the texture quite sticky, but enough liquid to apply the polish evenly. Plus, it dries very very fast. Something I always appreciate!

Longevity. Knowing that the other Essie polish (Laquered Up, here‘s the review) I tried chipped quite soon, I decided to use a clear nail polish as top coat and this “trick” saved the manicure for at least 5 days. I don’t know how Lilacism would have behaved without the top coat, though. :/

Packaging. Squared and pretty heavy. I like the fact that it’s chubby and that it has  a white cap instead of a black one.

Store&Price. I got it in a MyBeautyBox, as I was saying before, but it’s from a limited edition of Spring 2009 so no chances to find it, sadly. You can still have a chance to get it if you decide to buy the July MyBeautyBox here (no international shipping, sadly). I know that Essie has other lovely lilacs shades, though! Essie polishes are around 11 or 12€ each at Sephora.

Overall: 8/10. Never though I could rate this polish as much, but I have to be honest and speak my mind! I really like it and I’m glad that it won’t end in my nail polish box as the “polish I never use”.  Can’t wait to pair it with a nice nail art too! I was thinking of a white/lilac/yellow one which reminds me that I have to buy a white nail polish as soon as I have the chance.

Any thoughts of this polish and on Essie polishes in general?

Stay beautiful.

L

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Review: Essie Nail Polish in Lilacism #37

  • jesslan says:

    Really nice! It makes me think at the spring (that is still not coming here!). I’ve just now a similar color on my feet, but it’s a Kiko polish.

  • Nail Luxxe says:

    I’m so happy Lilacism won you over in the end 🙂 It’s a beautiful shade and looks lovely on you

  • marymakeup says:

    la mia esperienza con questi smalti non è buona, nel senso che la loro durata non è poi così lunga…almeno nel mio caso!
    My experience with those nail polishes isn’t that good, they don’t last long, at least with me! 🙂

    • satine89 says:

      Ho notato anche io che senza top coat non sono proprio il massimo! 😦 Con i top coat reggono un paio di giorni in più, però, effettivmanete, con quello che costano..non è un buonissimo affare! Peccato perchè la loro gamma di colori a me piace molto!

      • marymakeup says:

        ah guarda io ho smesso di comprare smalti “cari”. Non sto con le mani in aria tutto il giorno e quindi spesso e volentieri il secondo giorno lo smalto è sbeccato 😦

  • tizy1289 says:

    Ho un dupe di Kiko, bottega verde e MUA (Sì, lo so, sono una donna sveglia XD)!
    Ho sentito pareri contrastanti su questi smalti: da quello che mi è parso di capire, i colori più chiari di questa marca sono quelli più problematici a livello di tenuta e stesura. Una mia amica ha un diavolo per capello: ha comprato un azzurrino di Essie che, dopo 4 passate, era ancora a macchie e per nulla omogeneo!
    Vorrei tanto acquistare uno smalto di questa marca, ma ancora non mi decido per via di tutte queste problematiche..

    • satine89 says:

      Io mi aspettavo una durata maggiore, devo esser sincera. Soprattutto per il prezzo! :/
      Infatti questo qui e quello rosso (che ho recensito tempo fa) li ho presi con un’offertona! Di certo non avrei speso 12 o 13€ per uno smalto Essie senza leggere le recensioni!
      Purtroppo gli smalti(anche quelli costosi) sono un po’ a random con la qualità! :/
      Ho proprio comprato invece Mint Candy Apple perchè ne ho sentito parlare bene e devo dire che è il migliore tra i tre che ho! 🙂

      • tizy1289 says:

        Dopo la scottatura che ho preso con uno Chanel..Per fortuna me l’ha regalato un’amica: se l’avessi preso io sarei ancora qui a mangiarmi le mani! ahahahahahahahah

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: Essie Nail Polish in Lilacism #37 at randombeautythings.

meta

