Review: Maybelline Super Stay 14hr Lipstick in Ultimate Blush (#180)

June 27, 2013 § 4 Comments

Hello!

Here I am with another review. Today I want to talk about a lipstick I own since this winter, as you can see from my mini Insta-haul here. It the Super Stay 14hr Lipstick in Ultimate Blush (#180) by Maybelline.

Rossetto Maybelline

Color&Pigmentation. I started using the lipstick during this Spring simply because the color didn’t suit the Winter season. I remember picking it up mostly because of its finish (and stunning color), but I ended up regretting it very much. The color swatched on my hand is one of the prettiest ever: a pinky coral with a little bit of shimmer in it. Very bright, very girly, super fun and cute. On my lips it’s completely different, though. It’s darker, the shimmer is almost metallic and this finish makes my lips look “old“. If you ever tried metallic/very shimmery lipsticks you know what I mean. The pictures of my lips aren’t very true to the real life effect, maybe the light was too bright. The swatch on my hand, instead, is exactly how the lipstick appears on my skin. The pigmentation is pretty good, but you definitely need at leat two coats to have an even color.

Application. Not difficult, but not easy either. The lipstick doesn’t run on lips smoothly and it’s definitely not creamy.

Longevity. Not 14hr long, that’s for sure. The fact that it’s not creamy, but more on the matte side, makes it stay on the lips without transferring problems quite well for the first two hours and then, after three to four ours, the color slowly fades away. Nicely, thankfully. I would have expected more, though. Not just because it claims to be a 14hr long-lasting lipstick, but because of it’s quite drying formula.

3hr after

3hr after

Packaging. Super pretty. It contains a little amount of product, though, because the bullet is smaller compared to classic lipsticks.

Store&Price. I bought it at Acqua&Sapone on sale for 7.90€. I think the real price ranges between 8 and 10€. Maybelline is sold in every drugstores and supermarkets.

Overall: 5/10. I feel guilty giving a 5 to this lipstick. I really though it would change my life wearing it daily. I’m really still deeply in love with the color swatched on my hand, but I can’t stand the sight of it on my lips. It’s dreadful. Sadly, it’ll be one of those lipsticks that end in my makeup drawer almost unused. 😦 This line of lipsticks is full of other great colors,anyway. This one I picked up is the only with a shimmery finish, all the others are matte, if I remember right. I’m not sure if I’m going to buy another shade simply because I didn’t like the texture very much and, honestly, for being a tested-on-animals product is way too expensive for me.

Have you ever tried these lipsticks? Any thoughts?

Stay beautiful.

L

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Review: Maybelline Super Stay 14hr Lipstick in Ultimate Blush (#180)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: Maybelline Super Stay 14hr Lipstick in Ultimate Blush (#180) at randombeautythings.

meta

