Review: The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Highlighter

October 7, 2013 § 4 Comments

Hello, Internet and happy Monday!

Today’s review is about the highlighter I bought with my Maquillalia order back in the Summer. Here‘s the link to the haul, if you’re interested.
It’s the super famous-on-the-web Mary-Lou Manizer Highlighter by The Balm.

Mary 1Just a word before starting: when I placed the order I really wanted to try the MUA Undress Me Too Highlighter but it was out of stock. 😦 Therefore, I decided to give this The Balm one a try because of all the nice things on YouTube and on blogs in general. Plus, it was discounted so, really, I couldn’t go wrong.

Color&Pigmentation. It’s definitely a gold highlighter instead of a pink one. Before buying it I knew it would have been more on the warm side than the MUA Undress Me Too is. However, I did not expect that it would be this gold! Don’t get me wrong, the color truly is amazing, but on my cool and fair skin tone it doesn’t wear as good as on warmer people. The pigmentation is super. S-U-P-E-R. Almost dangerous, I’d say. You really need the tiniest tiniest amount of it, or you’ll end up having gold shimmer all over your face!

Application. Extremely easy. The texture is so smooth it feels like a cream butter-y highlighter. As a result, blending it is the easiest thing ever. The only thing you need to be careful is taking the tiniest amount of product, as I was saying earlier.Mary 2Longevity. It wears pretty well. It does fade a little bit, but it doesn’t require to reapply it during the day. On my skin it lasts from the morning to the late afternoon. Awesome. ❤

Packaging. It’s so super cute. I love the name of the highlighter (so fun!) and I love the paper packaging as well as product itself. The big round mirror is quite helpful too. Oh, and there’s so much product in it that it literally will last me for years. Never going to need another gold highlighter in my life.

Store&Price. The Balm is quite a pricey brand. I would compare it to Urban Decay, price-wise. However, I got mine for 13€ because it was (it still is!!!) on sale, but it retails for 17€ on Maquillalia.

Overall 8/10. I truly suggest this product it you are looking for the perfect gold highlighter. It really is a keeper, from the pigmentation to the packaging itself. However, truth be told, I couldn’t give this product a 10 simply because the color does not suit my skin tone as well as I expected and it still is an expensive highlighter. A tip: after watching Lauren Curtis using it as an eyeshadow and one morning I decided to give it a go. It was such a great surprise! It’s so perfect to make eyes brighter and I’m super happy that now it’s a multi-use product! 😉

Have you ever tried this highlighter? What do you think about it?

Stay beautiful.

L

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Review: The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Highlighter

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Highlighter at randombeautythings.

meta

