Review: Naked Skin Foundation by Urban Decay

December 10, 2013 § 6 Comments

Hello!

How is December going for you?

Today I will talk about the revolutionary foundation by Urban Decay, the Naked Skin foundation.

When I was in Rome back in September I swatched the lightest shade on my hand and it seemed to be pretty matching my skin, but being a high-end foundation I only asked for a sample. I’ve been testing it out for five to six times and I have a pretty defined opinion on it.

Color&Pigmentation. The shade I got a sample of is the #0.5, which is the lightest pink-toned one. The scale of shades is numbered with a .5 for pink-toned foundations and .0 for yellow toned foundations and I have to say that if I see only the .5 by them selves I can’t see the rose tint to them, but if I compare the shades with the yellow-toned ones there is a great difference. If you are struggling to find a very yellow-toned foundation, you should check this one out. Anyway, back to the beginning. My shade is a pink-toned one and, despite being pink, it is not pink enough to match perfectly my skin tone. Moreover, on my hands it seems to blend very nicely with the skin, but on my face it’s still too dark. Impossible to believe, but it is. Of course, to use the sample anyway I mixed it with my life-saver Face&Body MAC foundation (review here) in white. And now, yes it matches (despite being still a tad too yellow for me). The pigmentation is super if we consider how lightweight is this foundation. It covers all of the eventual cheek redness and attenuates pimple scars (I still would use concealer over it for the most stubborn ones).

Application. Smooth and easy. Maybe the easiest foundation to apply I have ever tested. Plus, it is very easy to layer.

Longevity. If set it with powder (I use the NYC one) it lasts for at least 8 hours. It fades a bit, but it still covers everything.

Packaging. Can’t say much about it because I had only the sad little jar by Sephora (which was also kind of broken).

Store&Price. The UD Naked Skin Foundation is sold at any Sephora stores and in Urban Decay counters, of course, for about 35€.

Overall 9/10. It would have been a 10 if the shade matched me without having to add the white foundation. I have been thinking of purchasing the foundation, but I’m not positive on spending 35€ and having to mix it with another high-end foundation. Too bad, because I really like this product!

Have you ever tried this foundation? What do you think about the shade range?

Stay beautiful.

L

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Review: Naked Skin Foundation by Urban Decay

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: Naked Skin Foundation by Urban Decay at randombeautythings.

meta

